Twitter: Is it for you?

November 4, 2008

Twitter is a social networking sight that allows you to post updates about yourself in 140 characters or less.  This efficient form of communication places emphasis on importance and brevity of information. 

In order to effectively use twitter, it is imperative to make frequent updates and have a vigilant following.  This is one factor that makes using this website difficult for me.  Twitter is only effective if you voluntarily disclose information about yourself.  While many people are comfortable with this minimal level of disclosure, I find the whole process a little bit strange.  I rarely make updates on my facebook account and it is incredibly difficult for me to voluntarily disclose information about myself.  I believe that it breaches my limit on personal disclosure. 

Twitter has been beneficial to many of my fellow students.  It has allowed them to make business contacts with CEO’s of large corporations.  Being able to make an important contact is priceless, especially if it only takes 140 characters of your time.  I will continue to use twitter sparingly until I find more relevant uses for it or until I become more comfortable with the nature of this site.

Leave a Reply

